W H A T   I S   S E L E K T ?

SELEKT is the name of a Bureau B sublabel

SELEKT is the 12" platform for experiments by musicians on the label or other artists

SELEKT offers space for collaborations and remixes. No borders

The third release (out August 12, 2016):

Rhythmus I–IV

What happens when you bring together two percussionists who are well-established in the electronic music scene and commission them to produce four tracks exclusively with percussion instruments—with the only requirement being not to deliver any overtly thought-out nerd music? The answer has been provided by Sven Kacirek and Thomas Klein on this SELEKT release.

Sven Kacirek has previously released three solo albums, including the highly praised "Kenya Sessions" in 2011. He has collaborated with Marc Ribot, Nils Frahm, Hauschka and F. S. Blumm. In 2015 he released an album together with Stefan Schneider on Bureau B.

Thomas Klein is a founding member of the band KREIDLER and has published three solo albums on Bureau B since 2011 under the moniker Sølyst.

Although the two musicians each speak their own distinct rhythmic language, with only a few data transfers between Hamburg and Düsseldorf they have conjured up four compact tracks, which despite the instrumental limitations are surprisingly diverse in terms of sound, groove and depth.

Read the info sheet (PDF) here

The second release:


The protagonists: The album "Zero Set" represented a milestone in latter-day Krautrock, created in 1983 by a hugely authoritative triumvirate of the German avant-garde: Dieter Moebius (Cluster, Harmonia), Conny Plank (legendary Krautrock producer) und Mani Neumeier (Guru Guru). The musician, producer, remixer and self-confessed Krautrock fan Richard Fearless (Death In Vegas) has dismantled the outstanding track "Speed Display" and bequeathed two new versions to Bureau B.

The outcome: The original was powerful enough, driven forwards by Mani Neumeier's machine-like drums and incessant bass synths, yet Fearless has managed to crack up the energy levels even further. On the A-side he has grafted rhythmic patterns onto a four-to-the-floor beat and compelling bass signature. Feedback, echoing voices, a sprinkling of synth-only the most essential elements, nothing which risks overloading the mix. Meanwhile on the B-side, the original track is barely recognizable. Fearless has plucked just a few notes from the bassline and crafted a fine slice of hypnotic electro-dub with minor chord echoes.

Read the info sheet (PDF) here

The first release:


The protagonists: Automat: Berlin music collective comprising Jochen Arbeit (Einstürzende Neubauten, Die Haut), Achim Färber (Project Pitchfork, Prag) and Georg Zeitblom (Sovetskoe Foto). Their debut album appeared in April 2014 on Bureau B.

Max Loderbauer: Berlin musician, producer and sonic architect on ambient, IDM and minimal techno terrain. One half of the Sun Electric duo in the 1990s, later a member of the Moritz von Oswald Trio, various collaborations with Ricardo Villalobos.

The outcome: dark, hypnotic, experimental electro dub/IDM

Read the info sheet (PDF) in German / English



Sven Kacirek & Thomas Klein. Rhythmus I–IV.
Selekt 03

Moebius Plank Neumeier remixed by Richard Fearless
Selekt 02

Automat & Max Loderbauer
Selekt 01


Click for Hi-Res version

Sven Kacirek / Thomas Klein
Click for Hi-Res version

Click for Hi-Res version

Richard Fearless (photo by Elaine Kin).
Click for Hi-Res version

Click for Hi-Res version

Automat & Max Loderbauer (r.) (photo by Martin Walz).
Click for Hi-Res version